Community News

Temeku Hills Junior Shootout

by: Thomas Byrne
Posted: February 20, 2017

TEMECULAR...On Thursday, February 16nd, the Hurricane Junior Golf Tour arrived in Temecula, CA to host the Temeku Hills Junior Shootout, which took place at The Legends Golf Club.  Seventeen junior golfers arrived early on Saturday morning ready the difficult course and the subpar weather conditions.  The tournament consisted of five divisions: Boys 16-18, Girls 14-18, Boys 11-13, Girls 13 and Under and Boys 10 and Under.  The entire tournament battled the swirling winds, chilly weather and unpredictable rain, while still being able to post low scores and have fun on the course.  Junior Golf Scoreboard Rankings were on the line for Boys ages 16-18 and Girls 14-18.


Boys 16-18 Division

The Boys 16-18 year old age division consisted of six competitors this weekend that were from four different states. This division was led by Will Hedberg, who came all the way from Maple Plain, MN to compete in this tournament. Will came out strong on Saturday by posting a score of 78, which ended being the best round in this division. Sam then followed his round one score with a tally of 81 on the final day. This two-day total of 159 secured Will both a win in this tournament and an invitation to the HJGT National Championship that takes place in Orlando in December. Along with Will’s exceptional play, his sportsmanship stood out in this tournament. He was quick to compliment others on quality shots and would always help the other golfers in his group, whether it was flagging down an official or tending the flag. Right on Will’s heels was Andrew Davis, from Highlands Ranch, CA. Andrew’s round one score of 81 put him in the final group for Sunday and in a great position to contend for the win. On the final day, Andrew one upped his round one score and shot an 80, which resulted in a second-place finish in a highly competitive tournament. Christian Schrodt rounded out the top 3 with a total score of 162, which was split evenly between both days. This consistent play will help Christian compete throughout the rest of his golf career! We would like to thank all the participants who were with us this weekend and we wish them all luck in their upcoming tournaments


Girls 14-18 Division

The Girls 14-18 Division also consisted of six players. Nicole Suppelsa, from Rollins Hills Estates, CA was in control of her game from the start of this tournament, and it showed in the scores she poseted. Nicole had rounds of 76 and 73, for a total of 149. These scores were the best two rounds for the entire tournament and Nicole should be very proud of the way she performed this weekend! With this win, Nicole received an invitation to the HJGT National Championship that takes place in Orlando in December. In second place was Sydney Scraba, from Calgary, AB. Sydney shot an 86 on the first day and bettered that score with an 84 on Sunday. Sydney played well on a tough course and we hope to see her again in future tournaments! Camilla Chung ended up taking third place with a two day total of 173. Camilla’s first round of 79 was very exciting to watch and she has a bright future ahead of her and we wish her the best of luck. We would like to thank all the girls who competed in this division and hope to see them soon!


Boys 11-13

The Boys 11-13 division contained two golfers., Luke Powell from Laguna Niguel and James Whitworth from Carlsbad, CA. Luke Powell had rounds of 80 and 81 for a 161 total and his third win of the year! Luke has been on fire whenever he steps on the course and he has been fun to watch. Luke has great control of his irons and shows exceptional touch around the green. James Whitworth had rounds of 84 and 87 on a difficult course with even more difficult conditions. James was very exciting to watch, with his high draws and the amount of creativity he showed around the green. Both boys were fun to watch for the duration of the tournament and we hope to see them in tournaments in the future!


Boys 10 and Under

The Boys 10 and Under division had only one player, Andre Chung from San Francisco, CA. Andre continued his phenomenal play from the previous weekend at San Jose and had rounds of 82 and 79. Andre is a great player and his consistency is truly amazing. He is highly meticulous in the way he approaches the course and will continue to finish high in any tournament that he enters! With this win, Andre will receive an invitation to the HJGT National Championship that takes place in Orlando in December.



Girls 13 and Under

The Girls 13 and Under division also consisted of only one player. Meghan Royal from Carlsbad, CA had rounds of 90 and 88 for a total of 178. Meghan did a great job keeping her shots low and out of the wind, which helped her post her low scores. Meghan was also very proficient on the greens, which were very fast this weekend, even with the rain that fell. We would like to congratulate Meghan on her win and on her invitation to the HJGT National Championship that takes place in Orlando in December.



Huntington Beach News 18582 Beach Blvd. #236 Huntington Beach, CA 92648 Ph. (657) 845-7475  Email:

Huntington Beach News ©2017. All Rights Reserved